Favorite Breakfast Lately

I’ve given up my Ezekiel toast with avocado, and gone to a new favorite breakfast.  Lately I’d been looking to shake up my breakfast routine since I noticed some bloating after breakfast.  I took out the wheat (even though it was whole, and sprouted) and the bloating disappeared, literally right away.  I thought I would miss having bread and wheat in my diet, but honestly it’s been so easy to give it up.  I also noticed that I have higher, and more even energy throughout the day.  Pretty happy with my new routine!

The best part about this breakfast is that you can prep it all the night before and have a delicious meal waiting for you in the morning.  It’s commonly seen around blogs as overnight oatmeal, but it’s more similar in recipe to the traditional swiss bircher muesli.

Click on the below photo to refer to the traditional Bircher Muesli recipe (photo from source)

Image

Best breakfast: Simplified bircher muesli (dairy-free)

1 organic apple

1/4 cup gluten free organic oats

1/4 cup organic plain Redhill goat milk yogurt (I like Redhill since their farm’s are certified humane)

2 tablespoons of favorite roasted nuts & seeds

spices:  1-2 shakes of cinnamon, nutmeg & 1 tsp vanilla

Method:

Cut half of your apple into cubes and place in a small blender ( I use the Cuisinart individual blender) with 1.5 cups of water and your spices & vanilla- this will create a delicious applesauce.  Now add in the other half of the apple- chopped finely (this gives texture) .  Stir in your oats evenly and leave overnight in the fridge.  In the morning top with yogurt & sprinkle your roasted nuts- top with fresh seasonal berries when available, and enjoy!

This creates a great filling and balanced breakfast, which I enjoy with a small green juice/smoothie and a jasmine green tea.

Leave a Reply

