Baked Sundays: Rasberry + Coconut-Almond Scones

Lately…the weeks have been endless and repetitive: working full-time, commuting (with podcasts making it infinitely better, lately loving WTF, Slate and On Point)  and working out (yoga or zumba at equinox) have been my life.  I’ve always prioritized art, leisure, quality time with loved ones, so this isn’t ideal to say the least.  I’ve been so supremely focused on finding the ideal routine here in my new city, while excelling at my new job, that my life seems to have become a pathetic shadow of what I’d ideally like it to be at this stage…full of friends, family, culture, nature, novelty, adventures and peace.   Hopfully this new week brings some balance.

20130922_083822

I’m back to baking on Sundays!  I miss this so much.  Lately, inspired by the insanely expensive low carb bread I found at Wholefoods and this recipe by Anne Getty on theChalkboardmag.com, I’ve been going paleo with my baking- meaning coconut/almond flours, psyllium seed and egg whites!  The results have been great.  These are just sweet enough, and are  fluffy, delicious, and healthy.

Rasberry Coconut-Almond Heart Scones

Dry:

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/2 cup almond flour

1/4 cup psyllium seed

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

Wet:

3/4-1 cup organic egg whites

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup gently mashed rasberries

1 mashed banana

1/4 cup organic soy or almond milk

20130922_084119 (1)

Mix: wet ingredients, and fold in blended dry ingredients.  Let set until it thickens.  Put a spoonful of the thick batter into a muffin top or scone pan (I used Wilton’s heart shaped scone pan, which I “buttered” with coconut oil).  Sprinkle with unsweetened coconut flakes.  Bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

These are perfect slightly warmed with some lavender black tea and the New York Times.

Leave a Reply

