Office Space, Sacred Space

Every morning is a clean slate, and I start each morning with the same routine.  Lemon water, french-pressed coffee, a green smoothie & sprouted toast, alongside the morning  papers (SF Chronicle).  I usually go straight to my “office space” to journal a bit, then check my calendar and get my high-priority items off my list.

So I’m pretty particular about the space I use for my office, since I start each new day there – it must be simple, modern & primarily white.  My first desk was a white & wobbly shabby-chic number from Target which served me well in school.  Then I upgraded (somewhat) to a simpler version of this white desk for my current (still tiny) office space.  A classic parsons desk from Pottery Barn Teen (solid wood frame & brushed nickel hardware), along with a cherry wood swivel chair from Room & Board- created the perfect budget friendly working space for me.

Screen Shot 2013-03-14 at 8.33.48 AM

I stumbled upon a feature in Vogue Living on Lake Bell’s gorgeously curated home, and she has similar sentiments on her need for a blank slate to think & work in,

“Unlike the rest of my home, my office is white—white everywhere and everything. My brain functions best with a very specifically curated splatter of items. It’s the only room I am protective of as it is.”

Screen Shot 2013-03-14 at 8.53.21 AM
via APT with LSD: Lake Bell – Culture – Vogue.

 

Leave a Reply

