Baked Sundays

I’m re-starting my routine of baking healthy snacks/desserts on Sundays- to share with friends on our weekly hikes, and to enjoy throughout the week.  I love pinning recipes for future baking projects- but ultimately, I end up winging it- I’ve realized I’m not a follower of recipes- especially if it entails complex steps, or long ingredient lists.  I love baking & cooking, but I’m such a clean fanatic, that the messier my kitchen gets, the less enjoyable the baking project becomes!  Nothing is simpler than the banana based recipes with short ingredient lists that have been popping up all over the internet.  I only use whole foods ingredients and keep my treats sugar/gluten/dairy free.  I used oats & coconut in this banana batter recipe, but for my next one I’m going to try to incorporate hemp, brown rice or quinoa instead of oats.  These turned out great, and were even better enjoyed from the Marin headlands where we hiked yesterday!

Banana & Coconut Oatmeal Muffins

(vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free, dairy-free)

photo (1)

Whole Ingredients:

3 bananas

3/4 cup oats

1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1-2 tablespoons flaxseeds ground

nutmeg, cinnamon & cloves (preferably fresh ground)

Method:

Mash bananas, add in the remainder of ingredients. Add water ( or almond/rice milk) as needed to create a more muffin-like batter.

Let the batter sit for a bit (10-15 minutes), then scoop into liners into a muffin pan.  My batter came to approximately 6 muffins (2 muffins = 1/4 cup oats).

Bake for about 15-20 minutes.

Enjoy.  These are great as a breakfast (with warm almond milk poured on top) and a green juice on the side, or as a great portable snack  (a great alternative to store bought energy bars).

IMG_0023

These muffins were enjoyed on an awesome hike on the Dipsea Trail in Marin- a must-try hike, especially for novices.  The best part is making it over to the Tourist Club, which is hidden among the redwoods.  It’s an unexpected hang-out with a bar that serves local beer, snacks, and beverages.  There’s a wall of well-worn books & boardgames, free for all to enjoy – and plenty do- picnicking on the wooden decks in groups, with their pitchers of beer, snacks & vintage boardgames.

One of my new favorite ways to make a day of it among great company, the fresh ocean air & towering redwood trees!

Only in the SF Bay Area.

Leave a Reply

