Chocolate Fix, Beans the Magical ‘Fruit’

When the chocolate cravings become so intense, that I’ll eat type of chocolate -whether it contains refined sugar, milk or any other host of toxins, just to satisfy that craving- it’s so very important to me to have a delicious, healthy & protein-rich chocolate treat on hand.  I also tend to not get enough protein in my daily diet- I’m vegetarian, but I gravitate more towards fruits & carbs vs. protein & vegetables.  There is something about beans that in the past I’d never found very palatable- however, incorporated into desserts (and new dips & spreads I’ve started to make)- they are absolutely delicious, and satisfying!

This recipe is inspired by the absolutely brilliant vegan dessert queen: http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/11/16/dark-chocolate-brownie-batter-dip-sugar-free/

Dark Chocolate Bean Fudge

1 can organic beans (garbanzo, adzuki or black- I had none of these, so I used Kidney beans!)

2 tablespoons raw cocoa powder (unsweetened)

2-3 tablespoons almond or rice milk (enough to mix- it should be a fudgy consistency, not watery)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 tablespoon coconut oil (for the healthy fats & anti-inflammatory properties)

1 teaspoon cinnamon (a great blood sugar stabilizer)

+ raw wild honey to taste (I used about 3 tablespoons) (I prefer honey to all other natural sweeteners, aside from dried natural fruits/dates, since honey has so many anti-inflammatory/bacterial/fungal properties)

I portion out my desserts in decorative little 1/4 cup portion ramekins.  I topped mine with a sprinkle of cinnamon & nutmeg.  It would also be delicious topped with some vegan carob chips or ground almonds.  Enjoy!

Daily Inspiration:

Today’s is from Twyla Tharp’s Creativity Habit, a book which everytime I pick it up, I’m re-inspired.

“Generosity is luck going in the opposite direction.  If you’re generous to someone, if you do something to help him out, you are in effect making him lucky.  This is important.  It’s like inviting yourself into a community of good fortune.  I cannot overstate how much a generous spirit contributes to good luck.  …the fortunate people I know:  they’re prepared, they’re always working at their craft, they’re alert, they involve their friends in their work, and they tend to make others feel lucky to be around them.”

“If it is true that who you are now and who you will be in five years depend on what books you read and which people you meet, then you need to think more aggressively about those you invite into your (creative) life.  Work with the best people you can find.”

On Igor Stravinsky:  “Stravinsky had impeccable taste (and luck) in the people he invited into his creative orbit.  Stravinsky’s talent for finding great partners was equal to his gift for composition.”

Leave a Reply

