Yoga & Kale-Coconut Popscicles

Yoga in the mornings

It’s been MONTHS since I started my mornings with yoga…I had been practicing each morning for a few months and loving the calming & restorative effects of morning yoga on my day.  Then I had something happen in my life, that derailed many of my healthy practices…although this was the time when I most needed them!  Funny how this happens.  Today I started again, with my usual 20 minute vinyasa practice… and I welcome my home yoga practice back in the mornings back into my life!  I still go to my studio, generally in the evenings, since nothing compares to the experience of practicing with like-minded people with an inspiring teacher, in a beautiful space.   But what a yoga practice- right when you wake up- offers is the balancing effect of meditation and movement before making decisions and going about your day.  It’s a beautiful transition for your mind, body, spirit from sleep to waking.  I can’t think of a better way to start the day!

Creamy Kale & Coconut Popsicles:

A perfect pre or post workout snack, or a super delicious and satisfying after dinner treat.  A green smoothie in ice cream form, what more could we ask for in a treat? 🙂

1 head Kale

2 cups coconut water

1 avocado

5-6 soaked dates

1 juiced lemon

(option: add 1-2 tablespoons of coconut butter for extra creaminess:)

Leave a Reply

