On Daily Rituals

20120522-061738.jpg

Good morning!

A large portion of my day consists of daily rituals that I’ve integrated into my day. These include:

A morning yoga practice
A daily cardio exercise routine in the evening
The same breakfast: lemon water, French pressed coffee, banana slices in soy milk or soy yogurt
1-2 hours each Mornings are for reading, planning and to accomplish high priority items and correspondence
Two meals a day- generally breakfast and an early dinner.
A book (generally an engaging non-fiction) that I carry around at all times (I use it for when I’m bored, waiting, feeling overwhelmed and need a momentary escape, bed time:)

Some that I’m attempting to start:
Winding down by 9 and to be in bed by 10.
A no labtop mandate in bed (reading books instead)

Many of the proponents of creating positive habits recommend going 100%- practicing them daily so that they become automatic. I'm also the same way with foods: I'm vegetarian (some fish) and I don't eat any processed foods, dairy or refined grains- and it is far easier to completely omit these things from my diet vs occasionally having them and having an unhappy stomach (day) as a result.

It definitely is far easier for me to do these small but important routines every single day, so I don't give them them a second thought and my life thus becomes seemlessly more vibrant and fulfilling.

20120522-061630.jpg

On the beauty of daily routines Andy Warhol wrote,

“Either once only, or every day. If you do something once it’s exciting, and if you do it every day it’s exciting. But if you do it, say, twice or just almost every day, it’s not good any more.

Leave a Reply

