Weekend Bakeshop

I love weekend baking.  It’s so satisfying for me &  a little weekend ritual I can look forward to.  A nice break from my usual berries, coffee & toast.

Like many young girls, as a kid all I ever wanted to do when I grew up was to open my own bakeshop cafe.  The idea for my bakeshop kept evolving (although I did end up becoming a healthcare professional instead:).  

My dream would be to open a bakeshop & creative space featuring healthy, gluten-free, wholefoods treats which taste delicious & look beautiful.  I think the space would also feature local artwork, books to borrow that customers had read and loved.

 A really beautiful space where people come together bonded over a nourished spirit, mind & of course belly :).  

This morning, I had fresh beets from the market so I improvised on a recipe I found on Elana’s Pantry.  These subtly date-sweetened treats were baked into heart shaped mini muffins & came out a beautiful red color from the beets, with a fragrant coconut  aroma & a satisfying touch of sea salt for balance..

Red Heart Mini Muffins (with Beets & Coconuts)

  • ¼ cup coconut flour + 1 tablespoon GF flour of choice (I used buckwheat flour) + 1 tablespoon ground fresh flaxseed
  • ¼ teaspoon celtic sea salt
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut Oil
  • 5 large medjool dates pitted
  • 3 organic eggs
  • 2 Tablespoon goat’s yogurt (optional, can sub in applesauce)
  • 1 large diced beet (about the size of a large tangerine)
  1. In a bowl, combine flours, ground flax seeds, salt and baking soda
  2. In your food processor (or high power blender), combine eggs, dates, yogurt, diced beets.  After the initial mix, add in coconut oil.  Finish blending to a creamy finish.
  3. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet.
  4. Spray mini muffin pans with extra virgin olive oil spread & spoon the batter  into the muffin tin.
  5. Bake at 350° for 20 minutes, or until firm
Leave a Reply

