Gretchen’s, “The Happiness Project” Chapter 6

I’m still loving this book- it is really one of those books that is able to make you take pause, and shifts your perspective- no easy feat!

On Chapter 6…some gems

“Epicurus – Of all the things that wisdom provides for living one’s entire life in happiness, the greatest by far is the possession of friendship.”

BE GENEROUS

One of the best ways to make yourself happy, is to make other people happy.

One of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.

Do good Feel good

The spectacle of virtue inspires the feeling of elevation- One of the most delicate pleasures that the world offers.

…Imaginary good is boring; real good is always new, marvelous, intoxicating.”  Simone Weil

BRING PEOPLE TOGETHER

Studies show that extroverts and introverts alike get a charge out of connecting with others.

Food food food!  Really great finger foods are an excellent way to connect people.

Cut people slack or “Find explanations in charity.”  Remember the” fundamental attribution error”  the psychological phenomenon in which we tend to view other people’s actions as reflections of their characters and to overlook the power of situation to influence their actions, whereas with ourselves, we recognize the pressures of circumstance.

SHOW UP

The simple gesture of showing up deepen casual friends into close friends, and confirm closeness between good friends.

“mere exposure effect”   repeated exposure makes you like music, faces- even nonsense syllables-better.  Mere exposure can work to warm your feelings.

DON’T GOSSIP

“spontaneous trait transference.”  Studies show that people unintentionally transfer to me the traits I ascribe to other people.  What I say about other people sticks to me.  Say only good things.

“One thing that had surprised me as my project progressed was the importance of my physical state.  It really mattered whether I got enough sleep, regular exercise, didn’t let myself get too hunger, and kept myself warm.  I’d learned to be more attentive to keeping myself feeling energetic and comfortable.  On the other hand, one thing that didn’t surprise me was that the most direct boosts to my happiness came from the steps I devoted to social bonds.”

Leave a Reply

